NOV 9, 2023
Wipe Sensitive Data: How to Make Deleted Files Unrecoverable
When you delete a file, it is still recoverable unless you take steps to make it irrecoverable. Permanently delete sensitive information!
When you delete a file in Windows, the file is not deleted.
And many people do not seem to know about this.
👉 When you delete a file in Windows, only the entry that tells the computer where the actual file is saved will be deleted from the master file table.
In this way, the deleted file can still be recovered with data recovery software.
Those deleted files are just sitting on your hard drive until they are overwritten with new data.
Seed Phrases, Passwords, and Other Sensitive Information
If you are a cryptocurrency user, and you have ever had seed phrases or other important information stored on your computer, you may want to make sure that the information is permanently deleted.
There is a probability that in some distant future, someone will get your 'old' laptop and try to recover files.
❗ If your laptop or computer needs a repair and you take it to a repair shop, you may come across a not-so-honest person who in the process of repairing your device decides to recover deleted information and keep it for future use.
❗ If a hacker gets access to your computer, this malicious but technically competent person may try to recover deleted information in the hope of getting access to seed phrases, private keys, passwords, or any other valuable information.
Overwrite Deleted Data To Make It Irrecoverable
To continue reading this piece you'll need to support the author by logging in and connecting a wallet and locking ACS with them. By having an locked at least the minimum of 250 ACS locked, you'll be able to continue reading this piece.